Highland State Recreation Area Information

Entrance Fees:

Just $12 when purchased with your license plate registration renewal, the Recreation Passport is your very own key to exploring Michigan state parks, trails, historic sites, boat launches, and more. It’s the easiest way to support and protect these resources for the next generation. Michigan.gov/RecreationPassport.

Michigan Resident Vehicle Passport When Purchased:

with Annual Plate Renewal via Secretary of State $12
at State Parks (Valid Until Next Vehicle Registration) $17

Michigan Resident Motorcycle Passport When Purchased:

with Annual Plate Renewal via Secretary of State $ 6
at State Parks (Valid Until Next Vehicle Registration) $11

Non-Resident Annual Pass $34
Non-Resident Daily Pass $  9

Camping Rates:

Rustic Campsite
$20 per night

Equestrian Campsite
$20 per night

Group Use Area
Contact Park

Bass Lake Modern Lodge
Weeknights & Off-Season Weekends: $89 per night
Weekends and Holidays, May 1-Oct. 31 $105 per night

*Please Note: Pricing is Subject to Change at Any Time.

Hours:

Summer Registration Office: 8am-10pm • Check-in: 3pm, Check-out: 1pm • Quiet Hours: 10pm-8am

Alcoholic Beverages:

Possession of alcoholic beverages by minors is strictly prohibited.

Animals and Pets:

Pets must be kept on a 6-foot leash. Animals must never be left unattended. Please clean up after your animals. No animals on the beach.

Camping Rules:

Campers may not camp for more than 15 consecutive nights. Campsites must be occupied each night. No minors in possession of alcoholic beverages- strictly enforced. Never leave a campfire unattended. Visitors must leave the park by 10 pm. Two vehicles allowed per campsite. Despite the change in law, the use of marijuana in public is still not legal/allowed.

Don’t Move Firewood! Help Protect our Michigan State Parks and Campgrounds!:

Invasive insects and diseases have killed MILLIONS OF TREES in Michigan–often after hitching a ride on firewood. Please don’t transport firewood! At most campgrounds, it can be purchased on the premises or from nearby vendors who sell USDA-certified firewood. If certified firewood is not available, purchase your firewood as close as possible to where you will burn it. If you purchased wood and don’t use it all, remember–don’t transport it or take it home with you.

Reservations:

Advance camping reservations can be made up to six months in advance of a customer’s planned arrival date for both campsites and harbor slips. Advance reservation for overnight lodging or day-use shelters can be made up to one year in advance. Reservations can be made by visiting www.midnrreservations.com or calling 1-800-44PARKS (1-800-447-2757).

More Information:

Log on to: www.michigan.gov/stateparks

Write: Highland Recreation Area
5200 Highland Road
White Lake, MI 48383

Call: (248) 889-3750

*Recreation Passport price subject to change.

Welcome to Highland State Recreation Area

These businesses welcome you and wish you an enjoyable stay.

Jet’s Pizza

Springfield Urgent Care